HANS-OLA ERICSSON organist/professor at McGill University in Montréal plays at the weekend concerts Saturday 11 August and Sunday 12 August

Hans-Ola Ericsson studied composition and the organ in Stockholm, Freiburg, USA and Venice. In 1989 he was appointed chaired professor in the church music and organ department at the School of Music in Pietà at Lulea University, Sweden. In 1996 Ericsson was appointed Permanent Guest Professor at the Hochschule für Künste in Bremen, Germany, and in 2011 Professor of Organ at McGill University, Montréal, Canada.

Hans-Ola Ericsson has given concerts throughout Europe as well as in Russia, Japan, Korea, the US, and Canada and he has worked extensively with composers such as György Ligeti, and Olivier Messiaen on the interpretation of their organ works. He frequently serves as jury member in international organ competitions.

Saturday 11 August at 12 noon

The world famous organist and professor at McGill University in Montréal, Hans-Ola Ericsson, plays pieces by O. Lindberg and J.S. Bach. Admission: ISK 2.000.


Oskar Lindberg  1887‒1955

Sonata in G Minor, 1924

I Marcia elegiaca

II Adagio

III Alla Sarabanda

IV Finale: Allegro con brio


Johann Sebastian Bach  1685‒1750


O Mensch, bewein‘ dein Sünde gross, BWV 622


Prelude and Fugue in B Minor, BWV 544


Sunday 12 August at 5 pm 


Hans-Ola Ericsson plays pieces by J.S Bach, R. Wagner (Pilgrim’s Chorus from Tannhäuser) and F. Liszt.

Admission: ISK 2.500. 


Johann Sebastian Bach  1685‒1750     Einleitung und Fuge 

from the cantata “Ich hatte viel Bekümmernis”, BWV 21

Trans.: Franz Liszt  1811‒1886


Richard Wagner  1813‒1883     The Pilgrim’s Chorus from Tannhäuser

Trans.: Franz Liszt


Johann Sebastian Bach     Chromatische Fantasie, BWV 903

Trans.: Max Reger  1873‒1916


Johann Sebastian Bach     St. Matthews Passion – Final 

Trans.: Charles-Marie Widor  1844‒1937


Franz Liszt     Fantasy and Fugue over the choral  “Ad nos, ad salutarem undam”, 1850


Tickets are sold in the church one hour before the concert and also online on www.midi.is